Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Key Research Areas

Armar 3a and 3b

Integrated Humanoid Platform

The research activities in this area include the specification and design of humanoid components, the development of dedicated hardware for sensory data processing and motor control as well as the design of software frameworks, which allow for the integration in humanoid robots that are in rich in sensory and motor capabilities.

More information
   
Armar-3b Dishwasher

Grasping and Manipulation

Integrated apporaches for the three main tasks needed for grasping and manipulation: grasp planning, solving the inverse kinematics for redundant manipulators and planning of collision-free motions. The algorithms are evaluated in simulation and on the humanoid robot ARMAR-III.

More information


   
ArmarImitation

Learning from Human Observation

A key question in the field of humanoid robotics is how a robot can acquire skills autonomously in order to cope with daily tasks in a human-centered environment. Based on the observation of the human we develop methods, which allows the learning of these skills by imitation.

More information


   
Vision

Vision

The research topics in this area are concerned with on-board robot vision as the primary sensorial channel to perceive the world and endow humanoid robots with the ability to adapt to changing environments. Currently, methods and techniques for object recognition and localization, self-localization, visual servoing and markerless tracking are investigated.

More information  
   
BottleTactile

Exploration

Humanoid Robots are supposed to constantly and autonomously expand their knowledge base by exploration of their environment. The focus of this research topic lies on haptical and visual exploration strategies that enable a robot to create representations of unknown objects. Ultimately, the representations will enable the robot to grasp and manipulate these objects.

More information

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Schwerpunkte

Armar 3a and 3b

Ganzheitliche Humanoide Plattformen

Forschungsaufgaben in diesem Gebiet sind die Spezifikation und Entwurf von humanoiden Komponenten, die Entwicklung dedizierter  Hardware für die Signalverarbeitung und Bewegungsregelung sowie das Design von Software-Frameworks für die ganzheitliche Integration aller Komponenten auf humanoiden Robotern.

Mehr Informationen  
   
Armar Spülmaschine

Greifen und Manipulation

Planung und Ausführung von Greif- und Manipulationsbewegungen. Die entwickelten Verfahren zur Planung von Griffen und Bewegungen werden mit dem humanoiden Roboter ARMAR-III in Simulation und in Realität evaluiert.

Mehr Informationen

 

   
ArmarImitation

Lernen aus der Beobachtung des Menschen

Ein Schwerpunkt im Bereich der humanoiden Robotik liegt in der Akquisition neuer Fähigkeiten, welche den Roboter dazu befähigen, Alltagsaufgaben des Menschen bewältigen zu können. Basierend auf der Beobachtung des Menschen durch den Roboter werden hierzu Methoden entwickelt, welche das Erlernen dieser Fähigkeiten durch das Imitieren ermöglichen.

Mehr Informationen

 

   
Karlsruhe Humaoid Head

Bildverarbeitung

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf der roboterseitigen Bildverarbeitung als primärer Kanal zur Wahrnehmung der Umwelt des Roboters sowie der Fähigkeit des Roboters sich an veränderte Umweltbedingungen anzupassen. Es werden Methoden und Teckniken zur Objekterkennung und -lokalisation,  Selbst-Lokalisation, visuellen Regelung und markerlosen Bewegungsverfolgung untersucht. Ein weiteres Augenmerk liegt auf Fragestellungen des Aktiven Sehens unter Verwendung des Karlsruher Humanoiden Kopfes.

Mehr Informationen

 

   
Bottle

Exploration

Durch Exploration der Umwelt sollen humanoide Roboter ihre Wissensbasis selbstständig erweitern können. In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt werden haptische und visuelle Explorationsstrategien entwickelt die es dem Roboter ermöglichen Repräsentationen von zuvor unbekannten Objekten zu erstellen. Ziel ist es über die erzeugten Repräsentationen dem Roboter das Greifen und Manipulieren der Objekte zu ermöglichen.

Mehr Informationen