Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Cognitive Automobiles

Human cognition comprises perception, reasoning and insight; their technical correspondence uncloses entirly new skills. A cognitive automobile perceives itself and his environment self-reliant with different sensors as well as through communication with other traffic participants. It structures the perceived information and is capable to safely and efficiently navigate in urban traffic due to his knowledge.


The goal of the research group "cognitive automobiles" is to give automobiles an abstract understanding of traffic situations and to make autonomous behavior decisions on this basis. We intend to create a consistent probabilisitic model of the vehicles knowledge about its environment and itself. This is necessesary since a vehicle can only oberserve its sourroundings partially and noisy. It is therefor of crucial importance that the vehicle is aware of this uncertainties and that this knowledge flows into the behavior decision process.
An additional focus lies in the application of machine learning methods to make the vehicle more intelligent. The automatic reasoning about the behaviors of other traffic participants as well as the risk potential of situations and relevant aspects for the decision provides not only generalizing methods but also more realistic heuristics than manual design. An important data source constitutes the human background knowledge incorporated by a driving instructor.

Stuff

 Automobilgruppe

Tobias Gindele

Sebastian Brechtel

 

Schwerpunkte

research topics

The research group "Cognitive Automobiles" is currently working on the topics interpretation of situations and behavior decisions through planning

 

More Information

 
Projekte

projects

 

 

More Information

 
Publikationen

publications

The research group "Cognitive Automobiles" is regulary present at national and international conferences. Results are additionally pubished in international journals.

 

More Information

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Kognitive Automobile

Menschliche Kognition beinhaltet Wahrnehmung, Denken und Erkenntnis; ihre technische Entsprechung eröffnet Automobilen völlig neuartige Fähigkeiten. Ein kognitives Automobil nimmt sich selbst und seine Umgebung mit verschiedenen Sensoren sowie durch Kommunikation mit anderen kognitiven Automobilen selbstständig wahr. Es strukturiert die wahrgenommene Information und ist auf Grundlage seines Wissens in der Lage, sich sicher, effizient und kooperativ im Straßenverkehr zu verhalten.

Die Gruppe "Kognitive Automobile" hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt Fahrzeugen abstraktes Verständnis für Verkehrssituationen zu vermitteln und auf dieser Basis autonome Entscheidungen zu treffen. Wir beabsichtigen eine durchgehend probabilistische Modellierung des Fahrzeugwissens über dessen Umgebung und sich auch selbst. Dies ist nötig, da ein Fahrzeug seine Umgebung nur ungenau und auch unvollständig wahrnehmen kann. Es ist daher von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass das Fahrzeug sich seiner Ungewissheit bewusst ist und dieses Wissen in die Entscheidungsfindung miteinfließt.
Des Weiteren liegt der Fokus auf der Verwendung von maschinellen Lernverfahren um das Auto intelligenter zu machen. Das automatische Erschließen von Wissen über das Verhalten anderer Verkehrsteilnehmer, Gefahrenpotentialen von Situationen und entscheidungsrelevante Aspekte der Umgebung führt nicht nur zu generalisierenden Verfahren, sondern auch zu realitätsgetreueren Heuristiken als manuelle Modellierung. Eine wichtige Datengrundlage stellt hierbei das durch einen sog. Fahrlehrer eingebrachte menschliche Hintergrundwissen dar.

Mitarbeiter

 

Tobias Gindele

Sebastian Brechtel

 

Schwerpunkte

Schwerpunkte

Die Forschungsgruppe Kognitive Automobile befasst sich zur Zeit mit den Schwerpunkten Situationsinterpretation und Verhaltensplanung.

 

Mehr Informationen

 
Projekte

Projekte

 

 

Mehr Informationen

 
Publikationen

Publikationen

Die Forschungsgruppe Kognitive Automobile ist regelmäßig auf nationalen und internationalen Kongressen vertreten. Forschungsergebnisse werden zudem in internationalen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht.

 

Mehr Informationen