Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Humanoids Group


The development of cognitive robots relies on artificial embodiments having complex and rich perceptual and motor capabilities. This leads to humanoid robots as the most suitable experimental platform. While simpler robotic systems might be more suitable for testing some theories in simplified environments, only humanoid robots can provide rich sensorial inputs and complex actions necessary to develop higher cognitive processes. The design of such robots which are capable of developing perceptual, behavioural and cognitive categories in a measurable way and are capable of communicating and sharing these with humans and other artificial agents is a challenging task. The target system is supposed to interact with humans in a reliable and safe manner. In particular, it is meant to be able to cooperate and to enter a dialogue with them. Therefore it needs to understand both what it perceives and what it does.

Our research interest is the development of humanoid robots which safely coexist with humans, interactively communicate with humans and usefully manipulate objects in human-centered environments. In particular, we address the integration of motor, perception and cognition components such as multimodal human-humanoid interaction and cooperation in order to be able to demonstrate robot manipulation and grasping tasks.

Regardless of the application area, one of the common problems tackled in humanoid robotics research is the investigation towards understanding of human-like information processing and the underlying mechanisms of the human brain in dealing with the real world. Our hypothesis is that such understanding can only be attained if we consider the human in the loop.

To demonstrate the feasibility of our approach, we are building humanoid robot systems with complex and rich sensorimotor capabilities as the most suitable experimental platform for studying cognitive information processing. We present our recent work that combines various approaches and techniques toward the realization of fully integrated humanoid robots performing grasping and manipulation tasks in human-centered environments and real-world scenarios. We believe that a holistic approach is fundamental to achieve this goal. Therefore, we are investigating how different partial results, attained in sub-disciplines related to the development of humanoids, fit together to obtain complete processing models and integrative system architectures, and how to evaluate results at system level rather than focusing on the performance of component algorithms.

Staff

The Humanoids Group

Dr.-Ing. Pedram Assad

Dr. Ioana Gheta

Christian Böge

Dr.-Ing. Tamim Asfour

Dr. -Ing. Kai Welke

David González

Dr.-Ing. Nikolaus Vahrenkamp

Prof. Dr.-Ing. R. Dillmann

Julian Schill

Martin Do


(not shown)

Stefan Ulbrich
(not shown)

Group Leader

Armar

Key Research Areas

The research group Humanoid Robots is currently working on the specification and design of humanoid components, on the development of dedicated hardware for sensory data processing and motor control as well as on the design of software frameworks, which allow for the integration in humanoid robots that are in rich in sensory and motor capabilities.

 

More information

 

Projects

Current projects of the research group Humanoid Robots are funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) as well as the EU.

 

More information

 
Pub

Publications

The research group Humanoid Robots publishes their results on international conferences and in leading international journals.

 

More information

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungsgruppe Humanoide Roboter


Die Entwicklung kognitiver Roboter umfasst den Aufbau eines mechantronischen Systems mit komplexen und reichhaltigen wahrnehmenden und motorischen Fähigkeiten. Hieraus ergibt sich, dass  humanoiden Roboter als eine der geeignetsten experimentellen Plattformen in diesem Bereich angesehen werden können.  Während einfachere Robotersysteme womöglich geeigneter sein könnten, um bestimmte  Theorien in vereinfachten Umgebungen zu testen, bieten nur ganzheitliche humanoide Roboter eine reichhaltige sensorielle Eingabe und komplexe Ausführungskomponenten, die für die Untersuchung und Entwicklung höherer kognitiver Prozesse notwendig sind. Das Design eines solchen Roboters, der in der Lage sein soll mit anderen Menschen und künstlichen Agenten zu kommunizieren, ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe.  Das Zielsystem  ist dafür vorgesehen mit Menschen in einer sicheren und verlässlichen Art und Weise zu interagieren.  Im Besonderen soll der Roboter zur Kooperation in der Lage sein und in einen Dialog mit dem Menschen eintreten können. Des Weiteren muss der Roboter verstehen was er wahrnimmt und was er tut.

Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt umfasst die Entwicklung humanoider Roboter, die friedlich und sicher mit dem Mensch koexistieren, interaktiv kommunizieren und in sinnvoller Art und Weise Objekte in menschenzentrierten Umgebungen manipulieren können.  Insbesondere beschäftigen wir uns mit der Integration motorischer, wahrnehmender und kognitiver Komponenten wie multimodale Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und -Kooperation, um Manipulations- und Greifaufgaben demonstrieren zu können.

Eines der weitverbreitesten Probleme, das in der Forschung humanoiden Roboter angegangen werden muss, ist die Untersuchung der Funktionsweise der menschlicher Informationsverarbeitung und die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen des menschlichen Gehirns. Unsere Hypothese ist, dass solche ein Verständnis nur erreicht werden kann, wenn die biologischen Mechanismen des Menschen in der Entwicklung humanoider Roboter mit berücksichtigt werden.

Um die Ausführbarkeit unseres Ansatzes zu demonstrieren, bauen wir humanoide Roboter mit komplexen sensor-motorischen Fähigkeiten als eine der geeignetsten experimentellen Plattformen zur Untersuchung kognitiver Informationsverarbeitung. Wir beschäftigen uns  mit  Ansätzen zur Realisierung von ganzheitlichen humanoiden Robotersystemen,  die in der Lage sind Greif- und Manipulationsaufgabe in menschenzentrierten Umgebungen und realistischen Szenarien  zu vollführen. Wir glauben, dass ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz fundamental für das Erreichen dieses Ziels ist. Wir berücksichtigen auch Ergebnisse anderer Forschungsgebiete, die mit der Entwicklung von Robotern verwandt sind, um vollständige Verarbeitungsmodelle und ganzheitliche Systemarchitekturen als auch -evaluierungen zu entwickeln.

Mitarbeiter

The Humanoids Group

Pedram Azad

Ioana Gheta

Christian Böge

Tamim Asfour

Kai Welke

David González

Nikolaus Vahrenkamp

Rüdiger Dillmann

Julian Schill

Martin Do


(not shown)

Stefan Ulbrich
(not shown)

Gruppenleiter
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
Dr. +49 721 608 47379 asfourBsb0∂kit edu

Armar

Schwerpunkte

Die Forschungsgruppe Humanoide Roboter beschäftigt sich mit der Planung und dem mechatronischen Aufbau von humanoiden Robotern sowie der Implementierung komplexer wahrnehmender und motorischer Fähigkeiten.

 

Mehr Informationen

 

Projekte

Die Forschungsgruppe Humanoide Roboter ist an Projekten der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)  und der EU beteiligt.

 

Mehr Informationen

 

Publikationen

Die Forschungsgruppe Humanoide Roboter ist regelmäßig auf nationalen und internationalen Kongressen vertreten. Forschungsergebnisse werden zudem in internationalen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht.

 

Mehr Informationen